Request a call back

Two more countries want to switch to the euro

Bulgaria and Croatia want by 2023 to join the zone of the common currency euro.  Zagreb has already filed a statement to include the Kunu in the European Exchange Rate Mechanism ERM2, mandatory for candidate countries.
As noted, after Brexit, to be held on October 31, even more EU member states will seek to introduce the euro currency.  From November 1 to the eurozone will belong to 70% of the European Union countries in which 77% of the EU residents live.
After the entry of Bulgaria and Croatia, Poland, Hungary, the Czech Republic, Sweden and Denmark will remain outside the eurozone. So far, Romania has not determined the exact date of the transition to the euro, but Bucharest has already announced such plans.
Recall that Croatia has begun the official procedure for joining the European Exchange Rate Mechanism and the European Banking Union, which is the first step in the country's accession to the euro area.
The members of the euro zone are currently 19 states. For entry into the community, a candidate country must remain a member of ERM 2 for two years, holding its currency. In addition, it must fulfill the so-called Maastricht criteria: the maximum budget deficit should not exceed 3% of GNP; government debt size - 60% of GDP; inflation should not be more than 1.5% higher than the average rate of inflation in the three EU countries with the lowest figures.